Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

ER Techs/ EMT's question for you.

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by rohitbest, Sep 26, 2001.

1. rohitbest

rohitbest Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

How much do you guys get paid, just wondering to see what regions pay more than others. I currently get 6 bucks an hour as and EMT-Basic in an ambulance service. and 6 bucks for ER tech. I live in alabama.

2. Mossjoh

Mossjoh Mayo Clinic-PGY2
    10+ Year Member

I'm an ER tech in Michigan. I do things like phelbotomy, EKG's, caths, and basic nurse aid duties. We get around $9 an hour, which is on the low side in Michigan, this is a catholic hospital. But it is good experience.

Mossjoh

3. The Fly

The Fly Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

During college, I was a medic for a FT paramedic-only ambulance serve (65:35 split between emergency and transfers, respectively). We were paid pretty well because we had a really high call volume. The starting pay for medics was 13.90/hr and by the time I was finished I was making 15.75 an hour and pulling OT each week, which definitely paid the bills.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Aeromonas

Aeromonas Member
    7+ Year Member

I'm EMT certified and work as a ER tech in Myrtle Beach, SC and get paid about $10/hour. It's on the low side but I get a lot of responsibility. I cast, splint, cpr, operate EKG's, draw blood, and as a EMT on the back of and ambulance I can intubate. pretty cool

5. UCMonkey

UCMonkey Senior Member
    7+ Year Member