Establishing Ontario Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xtekian

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I graduated from Amherst College about three weeks ago, and tomorrow (Mon Jun 9) I'll be starting work as a research assistant at a hospital in Boston. This is a two year commitment, so I will be applying to medical schools next fall.

Here is my dilemma: I am a Canadian citizen. My family won't be able to help me pay for med school, and so I am considering Canadian med schools as an alternative (or even primary) choice. However, my family and I have lived in the US for the past 8 years, and from what I've heard it's extremely hard for Canadians to get into good Canadian med schools from out of province.

Basically, my question is, is there a way to become a resident of Ontario without actually living in Ontario? Can anyone point me to a site for provincial residency requirements?

Finally, if the above were not possible, what are the requirements for establishing residency once I matriculate to a Canadian med school? I saw several threads concerning this for US med schools but not any Canadian med schools.

Thanks a lot!

Members don't see this ad.

Different schools determine residency in different ways. Virtually all of them will consider you to be a Canadian resident (and thus pay resident tuition); the difference comes in whether they consider you in the in- or out-of-province applicant pool as far as GPA cutoff, etc. With some it gets down to where you graduated from HS.

I left Canada after undergrad, many years ago. When I applied in 2004, some of the SW Ont schools considered me to be an ON resident; U of Ottawa did not (although I grew up there). You will need to check each school's website to find out their criteria.

Hi Meow,