Quantcast

Ethical question - Lasix Abuse

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MindOverMatter

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I recently came across a strange scenario at work, and would like some opinions.

Have a patient requesting brand Lasix, 1 year supply all at once. While this situation by itself is not a cause for concern, when I looked into the patient's profile I saw that she has requested the same thing for 3 months in a row. Always brand, always a year's supply. She always pays cash.

Our patient notes in the system state that she travels frequently, and routinely loses medication on airlines, etc. which is obviously BS, but she told me the same thing when I questioned her. My assumption is that she must be selling it on some black market, presumably to body builders looking to shed water weight before competition. I filled it for her this once, since I am new at this store and this is my first run-in with her, but I told her that since she is prone to "losing" medication, I would recommend only filling one month's supply in order to save money. She immediately brushed that off and said she doesn't want to come to the pharmacy every month since she travels so much. Sigh.

Anyways, when she returns next month with the same excuse, which I'm sure she will, I will probably turn her down, at least for the year's supply. While it's obviously not a control, and the doctor continually sends a new rx each month (#90 with 3 refills), I'm not comfortable with the thought of supplying some black market scheme.

Am I in the wrong here?

zelman

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
You're just doing your job. I'd recommend contacting the physician now, before the patient has a prescription in hand.

Genericrph2012

Reaction score
Funny. I would have only given her one dispense (90 if written for 90, or 30 if written for 30)

Gombrich12

No PCAT Required!
7+ Year Member
Reaction score