Evaluating my plan...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

codewarrior05

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently starting on my 3rd year at my university and need some advice. I am looking into applying to D.O. schools but am unsure of how to proceed. Currently my major is chemistry and I find the material interesting however I question my ability to maintain good grades while in advanced courses. I'm debating between sticking with chemistry or graduating in community health. If I choose the community health major I will graduate in the summer of 2010 instead of summer of 2011.

My progress thus far:
AP Credits:
Chem -5 Chem I credit
Calc -5 Calc I credit
Stats -3 Intro to Statistics credit

Semester I
Intro to Psych 3.7
College Physic I 3.7
Physics Lab I 3.0
College English I 3.0
Elective 3.0

Semester II
Art 3.7
Chem I Lab 3.4
Chem II 4.0
College English II 3.4
Ethics and Values 2.4
American Studies 3.7

Semester III
Upper Chem Elective 4.0
Business Law 4.0
College Physics II 2.3 (excluded from GPA, retook the classes)
College Physics Lab II 4.0
Psych Elective 3.0

Semester IV
Chem II Lab 4.0
Upper Chem Elective 4.0
Upper Level Statistics 3.7
College Physics II 4.0 (Included in GPA)

Semester V
(Taken at another school)
Compressed Organic Chemistry
Semester I = 4.0
Semester II = 3.0

Current GPA = 3.6

My Questions:
-Am I on track for getting into medical school?
-Does my major really make a difference? Would community health be look down on? The probability of maintaining this level of GPA in chemistry is low, while extremely high in community health.

Side note:
-I am doing physician shadowing and plan on taking the MCAT in Jan (after taking biology).

Just looking for some feedback / direction.

Thanks,
codewarrior05

Members don't see this ad.

You are fine. Major in whatever you want. You don't need to major in a hard core science to get accepted.