Externships

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ccAuD

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all! I'm new to this site and was hoping to get a bit of advice about the whole externship process. I'm currently starting to look for externships in various areas and wonder if anyone has any advice/words of wisdom. Anything helps.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all! I'm new to this site and was hoping to get a bit of advice about the whole externship process. I'm currently starting to look for externships in various areas and wonder if anyone has any advice/words of wisdom. Anything helps.

Thanks!

one of the PhD students told us "don't specialize too soon." get a broad experience your 4th year so you have options. we're a small field and specializing can limit your opportunities or geographic choices.

I am currently in my 4th year. I would recommend looking for externships that will offer you the most variety of ages and diagnostics. Hearing aids are always changing so you will always be re-learning the technology. Diagnostics wise--in addition to you basic audiometry, you should look for VNG/ENG, CDP, rotary chair, VEMP, Ecog, CI testing, infant and adult ABR, CAPD evaluations, and some sort of tinnitus management. Obviously, all of that is hard to find in one place, but try to get as many as possible because that will make you marketable wherever you go. You also want to make sure that the practice has a good reputation (look for a better business bureau award or any other award that could indicate that they are a good place for you to work). And lastly, and this is really a hot button issue for many, I personally would not specifically look for only paid externships--you want to get the best experience possible and a lot of times those come without a paycheck. Make sure you check out AAA's externship registry and if you are interested in a specific area, google audiologist in the area and just