This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fallingDeeper

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a freshman at UCLA, and I have just decided that I want to go to med school. My GPA so far is around 3.95, I had a 4.0 before i got an A- in chem 14B with Lavelle last quarter. I have been doing all the med school requirements, since they overlap with the neuroscience major prerequisites, so I'm not too worried about academics right now.

I am, however, lost when it comes to extra curriculars. Since I basically decided to go premed over spring break, I haven't done much in terms of extra curriculars. I did join a Premed club, and I got an internship for a board position, and I'm doing Relay for Life with them, but I feel like I need more.

I just applied for a volunteer position at Ronald Reagan Memorial Hospital, but I don't think I'll get in because my application essay was 400 words, but I was just told they won't even consider applicants with an essay shorter than 500 words. Mine was orriginally 550, but I thought 500 words was the max, so I cut out a lot of bs from my essay. I regret everything... :'(

so now I'm just kinda lost on what to do about extra curriculars. I want to get into UCLA or UCSD, and mayybeeee UCSF (let me dream).... yeah.... should I give up on pre-med? I feel so lost right now.

I just really need guidance. help me please

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a freshman at UCLA, and I have just decided that I want to go to med school. My GPA so far is around 3.95, I had a 4.0 before i got an A- in chem 14B with Lavelle last quarter. I have been doing all the med school requirements, since they overlap with the neuroscience major prerequisites, so I'm not too worried about academics right now.