eXtReme test anxiety

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

appple85

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys! I'm new to SDN... So I’m taking the test on April 5th… and I’ve been doing alright on AAMC practice tests (consistent low 30’s). My biggest problem now is that I have HUGE test anxiety, and it shows when I practice… no matter how hard I try to focus, I keep panicking about time. I have trouble concentrating, my heart is seriously racing like crazy, and I have to reread the passages several times, which wastes even more time... But, afterwards when I look at the questions again off the clock, even without reading the solutions, the answer is obvious to me, and I realize that I had made a lot dumb mistakes and easy calculation errors due to my horrible test-taking skills… anyway, this will be my second time taking the test… I scored abysmally low in september (20Q!!)… I had been scoring in the high 20’s during practices, but I panicked during the test. This time around, I’ve definitely improved on the concepts… but my test taking skills have NOT improved… u guys think I should wait a couple of months to take it or just go in and hope for the best… do u think this is something that I can improve on in a span of a couple months?… it seems that no matter how solid I am on the concepts, I have a hard time focusing and relaxing during test-taking conditions. I hear the real MCAT is a little harder than the practice AAMC’s, but if my practices are accurate, I can still get in the high 20’s, even with a 5 point drop, which I will be happy with since I’m going D.O. and their averages are lower. At this point, I know it’s mental… but I need to learn how to not let this damn test get to me. But yeah… anyone have any suggestions…? Hahah sorry I know this post is lame!!! :rolleyes:

Members don't see this ad.