Failed My Chem 1 Exam

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rh2k20

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I failed my Chem 1 Exam. This is the second exam, the first one I got a 96. Each exam is worth 12% and we have weekly quizzed worth 6% each. I have gotten mostly hundreds with one 80 and 90. I dont know what happened this exam as I studied more than the first exam and took last years exam, yet this one was way harder. Im not sure what to do now. Should I stick through it or drop the class. And any tips to bettering my studying to be more effective.

Members don't see this ad.

Oh and just an fyi, I did not cram study and I planned out the info I needed to study and followed through. I just felt the exam was way harder than any practice and completely caught me off guard especially after the first exam.

You need to meet with your instructor, go over your exam and see what questions you missed and why. Your strategy clearly was ineffective. Others passed the exam or got good scores. If you are unable to rectify your deficiencies, you should meet with your advisor and the education resource dept at your school to discover if you have any learning issues.

• Love
Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
how much did you get in the exam? what's class average? What's your over grade so far? Is there a curve for this class?

Reactions: 1 user
I cannot see the class average yet, and the professor blocked us from seeing our overall grade because there was a glitch with canvas. Its Gen Chem 1 and its my first semester of college, all online.

how much did you get in the exam? what's class average? What's your over grade so far? Is there a curve for this class?
I cannot see the class average yet, and the professor blocked us from seeing our overall grade because there was a glitch with canvas. Its Gen Chem 1 and its my first semester of college, all online. No curve however a 65 is a C