failed Step 3 by 1 point (189)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

baffled86

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I changed my profile name to remain confidential but am an active member of SDN and appreciate the responses.

Received my Step 3 score an baffled that failed with score of 189/74, 1 point away from passing. Albeit, I studied less than 2 weeks for the test and found the test difficult, especially the first day, I thought my performance on the second day was not half bad. I studied UWorld at averaged 45-55% right.

I am at the end of my PGY1 year. Both my Step 1 and Step 2 scores were in the 230's and I will be continuing my education in a non-IM field (anesthesiology, pmr, radiology, neurology).

My questions:
1. Is there any point in me contesting my score and having a rescore performed?
2. Will my failure hurt my chances of persuing fellowship or attaining a job in the future? I am at a mid-high tier institution for my residency.

Members don't see this ad.

I changed my profile name to remain confidential but am an active member of SDN and appreciate the responses.

Received my Step 3 score an baffled that failed with score of 189/74, 1 point away from passing. Albeit, I studied less than 2 weeks for the test and found the test difficult, especially the first day, I thought my performance on the second day was not half bad. I studied UWorld at averaged 45-55% right.

I am at the end of my PGY1 year. Both my Step 1 and Step 2 scores were in the 230's and I will be continuing my education in a non-IM field (anesthesiology, pmr, radiology, neurology).

My questions:
2. Will my failure hurt my chances of persuing fellowship or attaining a job in the future? I am at a mid-high tier institution for my residency.

First of all sorry about your misfortune. I have no idea about the answer to your first question. I suspect rescoring rarely makes a difference but that is only a gut feeling.