failing d1

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cchoops111

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in my first semester and not doing well at all. I received 2 b's, but failed dental anatomy, anatomy and biochem by a few only a few points. I was a non-science major and have been struggling with these science classes. Has anyone been in the same situation as I am, and have been able to repeat? I really don't want to be kicked out and hope that there are some options available.

Members don't see this ad.

How the hell did you fail dental anatomy?

Policies will vary by school. I would go talk to the schools administration. Next semester, provided there is one for you, I would probably talk to your faculty before the final grades come out. Typically, dental schools want their students to pass and will help you, provided they are made aware of your situation early enough to be able to intervene.

How did you fail so many courses..? Yeah, policies very drastically by school. At Tufts, if you fail one course, you get to retake an exam in that course (and if that pushes you up to passing, then you pass). If you fail two courses, you might have an opportunity to remediate during the summer (losing your 2-month summer break), but only if the promotions committee has mercy on you. If you fail 3 courses, you must redo the D1 year, paying an extra year of tuition and fees ($87K!); we had 5 kids redo the D1 year and joined our D13 class. Most likely, you will have to redo the D1 year (let's hope your school has that policy), but hey, that's much better than getting kicked out.

If the dental school give you another chance, make sure you make the most of it. Don't fail another course. Keep C's across the board at least. Get a tutor if you have to, and limit whatever social activity is keeping you from getting passing grades.

Members don't see this ad :)