Failing out of Vetetrinary School please help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

laughingoctomom

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys I really need some help, I feel so lost.

From a young age the only thing I wanted to do was be a veterinarian and now it seems like that career path is dead and buried. All throughout my schooling I consistently performed at a high level (ie achieving “A”s) in order to make it into vet school. I graduated with a finishing score that would’ve let me do most courses available and I got into my first preference.

I am currently in veterinary school but I already failed an anatomy course once (in my first year) and I’m almost certain that I also failed an anatomy course in my second year (now). The first time I failed I re-evaluated how I was studying anatomy and when I came back to repeat the subject, I spent lots of time in the labs with the cadavers and doing practical stuff instead of just working off theoretical stuff. It worked, barely. I scraped a 50%. This year I tried to re-use the same method and it didn’t work. Over the past semester I’ve been feeling like a total failure because it seems no matter how hard I try, no matter how many hours I put in, I just can’t learn anatomy. My school is also trying to reduce the number of graduates and thus the pass mark has become dependent on the performance of the cohort (the majority of which perform well above average)