Fainting during surgery

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smilesoup

Tufts V15
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, I was thinking about internships and residencies further along the road, and I started worrying about fainting. I shadowed a vet for a few hours last year and fainted during a neuter. The weirdest thing about it was that I started feeling really hot and light-headed, forced myself to look, told myself I've seen countless surgeries on TV (totally, totally not the same, I know, but I expected better from myself ><), and just dropped to the floor a few seconds later. The vet was really nice about it and the tech got me a glass of water when I came to. So my question is.. does this get better with time/practice, or should I be worried...? I'm still relatively new in the pre-vet scene and tend to freak out quite easily, I'm afraid! :laugh:

Members don't see this ad.

There was a thread about this, but I don't really want to search for it .....

this has happened to almost everyone. It did to me (although I just had to step out, I didn't actually fall to the ground). The heat of the lights, not eating, it being hot ... it all just gets to you. This wasn't even my first surgery I had watched (and previous ones were much more ... "messy".)

DON'T make yourself look in the future. Just ask to leave the room. Most people have been there, so usually everyone is really nice about it.

Don't worry about it, just make sure you listen to those dizzy/hot cues in the future! :)

DON'T make yourself look in the future. Just ask to leave the room. Most people have been there, so usually everyone is really nice about it.

Yeah, I think that was the key..! When I forced myself to watch, black dots started swimming around my field of vision, and.. ugh. Thanks a lot! That was the first time I've ever felt light-headed and fainted, so I was a little worried :laugh: