"Family-friendly" PM&R Programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PhysiatryMom

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I had a question for anyone who may be able to answer. I am currently a 4th year medical student and have applied for the match this coming year in PM&R. Do you know any programs that be not be "family-friendly?" I have a 14 mth old daughter and my husband and I are expecting again in March. I just would like to be aware of any of those programs in case I applied and if I get an interview I can at least be aware and prepared (since I am already in maternity clothes). I want both me AND my family to be happy with the choice I make. I know when I interview I should get a sense of "comfort" if they seem welcoming, but there could be something underlying that I may not know about. Thank you...

Members don't see this ad.

I would think that inpatient heavy programs would not be as friendly, since there would be a gap in the coverage. Similarly, small programs (like three per class) would not be able to accommodate maternity leave as easily. The law is on your side, of course, but there might be undue stress, or inability to take early leave due to prenatal concerns.

Theoretically, a larger program would be better because there are more people to cover. We have a PGY-2 who is getting ready to deliver soon. It does add a little bit of complication to the matters, but in no way should it restrict or limit you to programs where you want to go. My advice, interview at programs, see which ones you like best, rank'em, and the family stuff will work itself out as you go. Pick the program you want regardless.....

NF

Members don't see this ad :)