1. SDN Mobile is now free on iTunes and on the Google Play Store. Enjoy!
    Dismiss Notice

Family med MD/DO : thoughts on retirement

Discussion in 'Family Medicine' started by scharnhorst, Jan 9, 2019.

1. scharnhorst

10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    I'm 39 have been in practice after residency for approx 7 + yrs

Just wanted to see what the thoughts are of other doctors on retirement

DO you want to retire early i.e before 60 ? if so what is your strategy ?

Do you plan to work part-time after 65 as long as you could and why ?

Any senior docs here who are working in their 60s and 70s what they think are limiting factors for them and major challenges?

Thanks

#1 scharnhorst, Jan 9, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2019
  2. Blue Dog

Blue Dog Fides et ratio.
    Physician Gold Donor Verified Expert Verified Account 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    I'm out in four years (I'll be 57). My strategy...? I've been saving money since I was 22 years old. ;)

I'll keep my license active for a couple of years, but if I haven't done anything significant with it by then, I'll let it expire.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    SpartanWolverine likes this.
  3. OP
    OP
    scharnhorst

10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    nice
    I only started saving about 8 yrs ago uggh
    On the bright side I would like to work as long as possible even if part-time , I may have no other choice yikes

4. Blue Dog

Blue Dog Fides et ratio.

Attending Physician
    I intend to retire while I'm still young enough to enjoy it.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Trollest and IMGASMD like this.
  5. Mad Jack

Mad Jack Critically Caring
    Physician Verified Account 5+ Year Member

I want to retire before 50. Plan on investing heavy and living a middle class life

hushhush88, IMGASMD and goal-getter like this.
  6. OP
    OP
    scharnhorst

10+ Year Member