Feel so useless as a ENT intern

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

turboE36

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Posting this out of desperation...

I'm a relatively new ENT intern (been working for one month now) and I've been feeling pretty depressed with the way things have been going so far. I was a awesome away rotator and interviewee (so I've been told), but I've been having a really miserable time as a resident. I'm ashamed to admit that the thought of quitting has even entered my mind. Some of the things which have contributed to my misery:

- I can't stand some of my residents. One of the PGY 2s I work with has been ridiculously overbearing. She tries to help me by showing me how to do things (orders, discharging, etc) but never actually allows me the autonomy to do things on my own. I feel like this is a serious crutch to my learning.
- I feel like the pace is too fast. My seniors expect me to see a new consult and write it up in half an hour or less. I feel like I'm not doing justice to the patient by working them up so fast. The worst is when I get two consults at the same time.
- I have no idea what is "abnormal." I thought a inflamed EAC was otitis externa but in actuality it was just "dry" from debrox usage. When I do FFLs I don't really know what I'm looking at or how to describe the anatomy.
- I feel completely useless in the OR. I typically get put into "basic" cases on the schedule, but even these are sometimes a struggle. How am I supposed to know how a attending likes their suspension set up for a micro laryngoscopy when no one has even showed me the proper instruments for the case? Also as soon as I make one mistake (cutting too close to a nerve) the attending takes away the case from me and I basically go back to just retracting.