feeling discouraged

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

asummer208

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. Not sure if this forum is for the purposes of venting, but I couldn't think of a better place to discuss my feelings. I just graduated from my pre-health degree, and have been on and off studying for the new MCAT. I had taken the MCAT last year, and received a very low score. This was very discouraging and made me doubt my intelligence. I ended up graduating with a 3.6 overall GPA and a 3.4 Science GPA. I am trying to get a job as a scribe, since I am no longer receiving money from school and I want a job that is pertinent to my career choice. I have already been denied to work at PhysAssist Scribes, due to my lack of quick typing skills as well as a virtual scribe position due to my inexperience. I am now studying for Scrivas, which seems to be more doable, since it is more of a medical terminology aspect, however, nothing is guaranteed for at least 2 months. I was planning on applying to medical school for the 2016 cycle, but with everything going on, I am not sure I will be able to accomplish this. While I am studying for this scribe position, it is hard to focus on both the MCat and Scribing. I am turning 25 next month, and I feel as though I have been in the same place for almost 4 years now, with no improvements. I am not a good test taker and it takes me a longer time to learn things. Can anyone please provide me with words of wisdom? I am literally about to give up.:(

Members don't see this ad.

Don't give up!! There are plenty of older applicants than you. If you need the gap year, take it. Best of luck!!

Reactions: 1 users
Hang in there! I don't think I'm stupid but I've never been great at standardized tests. I often feel like I have to study twice as long as some of my peers for the same results.