Fellowship Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Thumpar

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm starting medical school in the fall and I'm really interested in pathology. I currently work as a path tech and I get to helps the pathologists here with a variety of different tasks. I really like what they do and I think it's what I want do too.

I'm looking to get the HPSP through either the Army or the Air Force. It seems like they offer fellowships only for Forensic Pathology and Cytopathology. I'm interested in doing a fellowship and I know I don't want to do Forensic. I'm not really sure exactly what Cytopathology is.

The pathologists I help out are all surgical pathologists, and that's what I'm interested in. Is Cytopathology different than Surgical Pathology? It's listed as a subspecialty of Surgical Pathology on wikipedia.

Members don't see this ad.

Cytopathology is looking for abnormal cells. I would consider much of it a subset of surgical pathology.

There have to be other fellowships in the military, or they would let you go elsewhere to train before returning military. I knew a guy that came to our program for dermpath and then was off to an army base.

I did cytopathology. Unless you are in academics I wouldn't recommend, not a large role in community pathology as all the Pap's go to big box labs and you get stuck with rare odd FNAs.

I can't recommend you do pathology. It is sinking where I am. Do a specialty field in internal Medicine. I'd recommend Derm or GI.

Members don't see this ad :)