Finance/Consulting Internships for Pre-Med Applications?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dtinox

Reaction score
Hi y'all, I was wondering how a finance or consulting internship would look in terms of an application to med school? I'm currently a freshman at a target school for finance and there are a ton of those opportunities here, and I was particularly interested in some medical consulting businesses (working with physicians on a lot of more corporate problems). I currently have a research position that I'm planning on continuing throughout college, but I with an internship I won't be able to do summer research. I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on how this will factor into an application?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi y'all, I was wondering how a finance or consulting internship would look in terms of an application to med school? I'm currently a freshman at a target school for finance and there are a ton of those opportunities here, and I was particularly interested in some medical consulting businesses (working with physicians on a lot of more corporate problems). I currently have a research position that I'm planning on continuing throughout college, but I with an internship I won't be able to do summer research. I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on how this will factor into an application?

Are you asking specifically about how a finance internship will look, or non-medical stuff in general? I'm not an adcom so I can't speak to how much they like/dislike experiences in finance -- but the consensus is that non-medical things on your application are nice to have and show that you're a well-rounded person with interests outside of medicine too

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Even underwater basket weaving is fine as long as you have required ECs.