Fired someone, feeling guilty

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pharm.D2020

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a pharmacy manager and had to fire a tech today. Mostly due to attendance, been out “sick” almost 30 days out of 90 days of employment. Also had other issues, this person just didn’t fit with the existing team, left a lot of tension when they worked, not open to constructive criticism, constantly compared this job to last job. They counseled patients though tech counseling is prohibited by law. Yet I feel so guilty and horrible letting this person go, especially this close to Christmas. I can handle all the other parts of managing but I’ve never had to fire anyone, yes I put people on improvement plans, talked about missteps etc but never had to fire anyone. Despite knowing it’s the right thing for my pharmacy I’m overwhelmed with guilt. How do you deal with it. This person is not a bad employee when they are present but they are just unreliable.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
They will make more as a cashier at Target.

Reactions: 6 users
Members don't see this ad :)
You think ahead to being short a person and how the next one will be better. You should feel guilt for cut hours or issues with competent staff, but performance related dismissal should be viewed as why not sooner if the employee was problematic. Otherwise, you poison the place.

Reactions: 10 users
Think about it this way: they fired themself.

Seriously, you gave them every chance to improve and tried to improve their performance. It’s not your place to feel guilty.

Firing is one of the sucky parts of managing though so I get that. It’s better than never firing anyone though, that way leads to all the good techs quitting and all you have are the bad ones.

Last edited:
Reactions: 7 users
You know how the saying goes, "80% of success is showing up"

Reactions: 3 users