First Gen as Diversity

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

boundlesscorpuscle

MD Class of 2023!
Reaction score
I had a chat with my adviser the other day about the secondary application 'diversity' essay. He suggested that I somehow work in that I am a first-generation college student, and perhaps discuss by background moving from the Midwest (Ohio) to the South (Florida). He said that indicating FGCS would help distinguish me from other white, middle-class applicants. Also, he argued that I could frame my experiences with both a Midwestern and Southern upbringing as diversity of perspective, allowing me to appreciate people from different backgrounds.

I did not indicate disadvantaged status on AMCAS, and although by AAMC standards I am a first-generation college student, as none of my parents have a Bachelors'degree, my dad did apply and attend a few semesters at Ohio State. I have never considered my family poor or truly disadvantaged. We have struggled financially, but I always had everything I needed, I attended good schools and I didn't have to work to support the household. My parents were supportive of me going to college, but they weren't really able to offer me anything financially or in terms of guidance. I know I have overcome some hurdles that upper-class students with professionals for parents may not have had, but my challenges seem insignificant compared to the many low-income, URM applicants.

I guess my question is, how beneficial would it be to include this in my secondaries? Currently, I have already written a diversity essay about SCUBA diving, and I have kind of been wavering on whether this truly qualifies as 'diversity.' Would discussing FGCS/mutli-regional upbringing be any more compelling?