first medical-related job?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fpr85

"newbie"
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Sorry, I'm sure this is the wrong place to be posting so if a mod sees this he/she can move it.

I'm a starting freshman this year at a nearby community college. I can't drive yet (although I will be able to in about a month), but I was just wondering if anyone had any advice on a starting (medical) job. Should I volunteer or work? Hospital or a private clinic? I'm not concerned about money but wouldn't mind making a bit -- the most important thing for me though is to gain experience out of the whole thing. What did you do as a first job when you first decided that you wanted to go into the medical field?
Like I said I'll be getting my car in about a months time, so in the meantime I'm browsing around and getting an idea (although I must say it all seems very intimidating) of the opportunities out there, and will take action in about a months time.

And if anyone knows of anything available in the Northern VA area (Annandale/Springfield, etc.) I'd appreciate it! (I searched on google as far as volunteering goes but didn't see anything)

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Well, if you want I can move it to pre allo or pre do....you let me know. But as far as first medical jobs go....becoming an EMT basic is a great first medical job if you have the nerve and stomach for it. You get to see a variety of illnesses and see all types of trauma plus you come in contact with many different fields in healthcare. You learn to deal with the medical community and learn how it works.

other jobs include CNA :Ceritfied Nurses Assistant, Orderly, Volunteer at a hospital. Those are just some jobs right off the top of my head that require minimal training.