General Admissions & OTCAS First Time applying for OT School/My Stats

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

theeteaote

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my first time applying to OTD programs after graduating in December 2020. I am entering the application cycle late summer/early fall of 2021. At most, applying feels like a shot in the dark, but I wanted to at least take a chance at one cycle. I will either be taking a gap year to improve my stats or looking into OTA programs if not accepted this cycle. :)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Best of luck!

I just graduated OT school, and looking back my plan was to also do a gap year if I wasn't accepted my first go around. OT school is so expensive and it will give you time to save and gain more experience, if needed.

In the meantime, I have documented my journey all throughout OT school. The OT community on instagram is extremely helpful and there are quite a few people that do personal statement editing. I am @ot.elightenment on instagram and there are tons of others who document all about OT school, resumes, fieldwork, working while in school, etc.

Anyways, best wishes! I never had experience in a children's hospital, but that sounds amazing!

Reactions: 1 user
Congrats on graduating and good luck on applying when the new cycle opens up for 2021/2022 in July.

Depending on where you are looking to apply I would definitely recommend retaking some of your pre-reqs to increase your GPA. Though admittedly it is possible to get into a program with your current stats just make sure that you have a stellar personal statement as well as good letters of rec, and I hope you are able to connect with an OT at your new internship to give you a letter of rec since that is typically a requirement in programs as well.