Floater or staff pharmacist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smoothie567

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I graduated in May and I have been working as a floater for about 3 weeks. My DM offered me a staff pharmacist position at a pharmacy that is one and a half hour away from where I live. He mentioned that the script volume is about 250 at that pharmacy. I talked to a tech from that store and she said the pharmacy can be insanely busy. I have to move if I take that position, and the company will provide me with relocation assistance. Right now I don't feel like accepting the staff pharmacist position at that pharmacy based on what the tech told me. And I don't feel like moving to a new place since I just moved to my current place two months ago...But I worry that if I turn down this opportunity, I will be a floater forever. I don't know what to do...

Also, what is the difference between a floater and a staff pharmacist? I have been reading threads on sdn. Some people prefer working as a floater and other people prefer getting their own stores...any answer to my questions will be appreciated. Thank you so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
The only difference is that a floater "floats" and a staff pharmacist works all his/her hours at mainly one location.

This is really a personal decision. Unless your DM is unreasonable I think it is perfectly ok to say that you don't want to move and would like to wait for something closer to open up. I, myself, wanted to get a staff position ASAP as I want to be a manager in the near future.

maybe times have changed.....but I was never given an option to be a floater when I graduated.....they gave me a staff position the day after I was licensed.....floating maybe better, because you don't want to be stuck in a bad store with a horrible staff and/or terrible pharmacy manager

Members don't see this ad :)