Fluid column for epidurals

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Urzuz

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

First time poster around these parts. For some background, I'm a second year anesthesiology resident right now.

I had a question regarding columns during epidural placement. I feel like I should know the answer to these questions, but I figured I would just confirm what I think the answers are!

When using a fluid column after getting the Tuohy needle into the epidural space, I understand that you are looking for the fluid column to drop when you open it to atmosphere, because the epidural space is at a lower pressure than atmosphere. My question is, what are the different things you can see to tell you that you AREN'T in the epidural space, and where do those things imply you are? If you don't see it drop at all, I think that could mean you could be anywhere from the subcutaneous tissue all the way down to the ligamentum, right? If you are intrathecal, what would you see? I know you would theoretically get a wet tap so that would tip you off, but if you did hook a fluid column up, what would happen? Also, I've seen some of my attendings ask patients to take a deep breath while the column is dropping. What are they looking for?

Thanks in advance for the replies!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone,

First time poster around these parts. For some background, I'm a second year anesthesiology resident right now.

I had a question regarding columns during epidural placement. I feel like I should know the answer to these questions, but I figured I would just confirm what I think the answers are!