For those with high MCAT scores?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bme94

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I really need some advice on how to study for the new MCAT. I have a 3.7 GPA, more than 300 hours of clinical research, 300 hours of non clinical research, been in a couple of clubs, and have done some community volunteering.

There's just one problem. I bombed the MCAT - got a 499. I was absolutely devastated. I studied really hard for it (maybe not in the right way, I'm not sure) and I really need some advice from people that scored high.

I also have a letter from my school's prehealth committee, a letter from an M.D., a non science professor, a science professor, and a teaching assistant (just for extra)

I know I can do better. I believe in myself. I don't want to sit around and feel sorry for myself anymore. What materials did you use and how long did you study for? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Kaplan..whole set for 3 months. Once you get the content down..focus on test taking abilities (remaining cool under pressure, skipping difficult passages, elimination, etc.).

Did you take practice tests before the real thing? If so, what was your average and range? If not, that's likely your (or one of) problem(s).

Members don't see this ad :)
On an unrelated note, where is your shadowing hours?

Did you take practice tests before the real thing? If so, what was your average and range? If not, that's likely your (or one of) problem(s).

Yes, I did. I think I took 3 practice tests. I think on the AAMC practice test I scored a 70%. On a couple of NEXT Step exams I think I scored a 504.

You are more than just the numbers. The score is above several schools minimums.

You are more than just the numbers. The score is above several schools minimums.

How do you know this? I thought schools didnt have ranges for the new mcat yet on MSAR