foreign DOs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Berto

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a post-bac pre-med student who has just sent in my apps. for both DO and MD programs. Even though I think that I have a fair chance for both, I am leaning toward DO. My only question is "is it possible for a DO to practice overseas (such as Europe, Italy in particular) with the same level of "certification" they have in the U.S. I lived in Europe after my undergrad. and would like to go back for a time. Is DO going to hurt any chances of this?

Members don't see this ad.

Someone please correct me if I'm wrong, but it is my understanding that US-trained DOs are not granted the same practicing rights as their MD counterparts in many countries. This is the general rule, though there are exceptions. Most countries only allow DOs to practice manipulative medicine. However, I'm also under the impression that the AOA is working to get US-trained DOs full practicing rights in these countries.

I recommend checking the AOA's website. That's where I remember reading something about this. I do recall some mention, on the website, of which countries do/don't grant DOs full practicing rights.

[This message has been edited by DocGibby (edited 06-17-2000).]

DocGibby,

You are correct. DOs cannot prescribe medicine or perform surgery outside of the US. I believe America is the only country to call them osteopathic physicians, whereas the other countries still refer to them as osteopaths.

Rocky

Members don't see this ad :)
Robby,