Fourth year rotations

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

taloddar2002

Slacker
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm currently a 3rd year pharmacy student at the University of Kentucky who needs some advice regarding 4th year rotations. I'm planning on completing a PGY-1 residency upon graduation and I'd like to know if there are any rotations that would make me more competitive or a better resident in general. Some of the rotations I'm on the fence about include Peds (I don't plan on specializing in peds, but it's probably a skill I need to know?), surgery, Heme/onc, ID, etc.

Also, we are required to do a community pharmacy and ambulatory selective rotation. Any advice regarding these would be appreciated.

Thanks for the help!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hey everyone, I'm currently a 3rd year pharmacy student at the University of Kentucky who needs some advice regarding 4th year rotations. I'm planning on completing a PGY-1 residency upon graduation and I'd like to know if there are any rotations that would make me more competitive or a better resident in general. Some of the rotations I'm on the fence about include Peds (I don't plan on specializing in peds, but it's probably a skill I need to know?), surgery, Heme/onc, ID, etc.

Also, we are required to do a community pharmacy and ambulatory selective rotation. Any advice regarding these would be appreciated also.

Thanks for the help!
If you wanted to do a residency you should have gone to med school.

Thats a little abrasive and uncalled for. Looks like our OP here is genuinely looking for advice.

Good grades and any in-patient experience will go a long way. Keep good relations with faculty members as they will come in handy when its time for those recommendation letters.

Members don't see this ad :)