Friends (as a precursor to studying)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

here2learn

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I want to study but find that I have zero friends, which I find severely hampers my studying.

I moved to this campus in Utah from the East Coast. And I know no one in this entire state. I am always alone and very, very. very lonely.

I am quite isolated on my campus on account of my religion (I am a non-practicing Christian, everyone else is Mormon on my campus and in my town).

I am looking for advice on the best way to make friends on my campus. I live off campus, which doesn't help. I am rather shy, which doesn't help either. They also wonder about my race - I am White but I look funny mixed race type because of my dark skin and curly hair. I am White though. I am not very good at making friends, I am awkward, prone to making foolish jokes, maintain silence when I should be talking. Plus I come across as intimidating since I am very tall, so I stick out. No one wants to be friends with someone who is nearly 7 foot tall. (No, I suck at sports).

It is depressing because for the last two years, I may have spoken to at most 4 or 5 people (excluding professors, cashiers at supermarkets, etc). People here are VERY polite, never rude, but they politely blow me away. They seem very intimidated by me. When they find out I am not Mormon, they walk away - very politely.

Please suggest something.

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

I want to study but find that I have zero friends, which I find severely hampers my studying.

I moved to this campus in Utah from the East Coast. And I know no one in this entire state. I am always alone and very, very. very lonely.

I am quite isolated on my campus on account of my religion (I am a non-practicing Christian, everyone else is Mormon on my campus and in my town).