from medicine to Derm

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

samer333

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
???

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

I am about to become a 3rd year medical resident. I am interested in Dermatology as a career after medicine. My scores are 86 step 1 and 78 step 2. I am studying for step 3. I know my scores are not great. How much does it help to get into Dermatology after doing internal medicine residency? Will a 1-yr research help?

Thanks!
Samer
IM residency will not help much if at all.Perhaps if you were at superstar at a TOP IM program you could do it.Otherwise you will face the same competition for spots as everyone else.Without contacts you wont get in.Research for a year may help if you get to know the right people but without a strong application otherwise even that is no guarantee.
I would consider sticking with IM and look for a fellowship in Rheum or Allergy
its easier than trying to get Derm at this point for you.

Well skindoc knows much more than me in regards to derm. (I am a lowly 4th year medical student not even applying to derm). I thought Id give you an opinion.