Frustrated about shadowing...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pktgresch

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
"Hello,
I am a pre-med student interested in attending Podiatry school post graduation. I am taking all the necessary steps in order to be a good candidate for acceptance now; however, I have yet to shadow a physician. I have contacted 10 local offices, emailed the two mentors listed in my area on this site and still have not heard back from anyone.:boom: Should I try to attend the internship programs that a few of the Pod schools offer? Would it be un-appropriate to ask for a letter of recommendation while only being in the clinic with a physician for such a little amount of time (the internship is 4days?) How should I go about shadowing a Doctor, should I simply show up at their office and ask to shadow? Any help would be greatly appreciated."
This is a question I posed in the "ask the expert" section of apma.org. I felt it would be easier just to post it here in stead of re-typing it. I am concerned because summer is almost over and I will be returning to school out of state, in West Virginia. I will be super busy with only being able to get away from campus on the weekend. Does anyone think I will have better responses from physicians in WV? I am getting concerned because I have no hours with DPM's and it seems a bit late seeing how I will be applying one year from today. How did you all go about getting to shadow and getting that much needed letter of rec?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi there,