SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Discussion in 'Step I' started by ahussain9, May 27, 2008.

1. ahussain9

ahussain9 7+ Year Member

Jan 15, 2007
    So I've been studying for a couple of months now and I'm in my "crackdown" weeks...Just 2 weeks before my exam...and I'm getting completely frustrated with memorizing material then losing it the next day. How are we possibly supposed to memorize ALL of this junk! I'm sitting here trying to RE-memorize the hormones of the GI tract and can't help but thinking "WHO CARES!"

I'm about ready to take this exam tomorrow to get it over with...What do I do?

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. medstu2006

medstu2006 Senior Member 5+ Year Member

Jul 1, 2005
    You are not alone. Most people get frustrated with memorizing information and then forgetting it the next day. You can do more questions or take an NBME to figure out your weak areas.
  4. boardsbandit524

boardsbandit524 2+ Year Member

May 3, 2008
    i hear that most people feel like they bomb this exam anyways and end up doing well.
  5. SurferBoyMD

SurferBoyMD Back in the water! 10+ Year Member

Jun 3, 2007
    :p you had two months and then some to prepare? :scared: I only get 5 weeks :D
  6. MystikBliss

MystikBliss 2+ Year Member

Dec 20, 2006
    feeling the same way. do more questions. take the NMBE assessment. keep just trying to memorize everything you see. and calm down. being frustrated does nothing but provide distraction. i'm sure most people on the forum can relate
  7. Rogue Synapse

Rogue Synapse The Dude Has Got No Mercy 7+ Year Member

Apr 11, 2006
    I've been studying for two weeks and I take my exam on June 10th. I think I gave myself just enough time to go through everything without giving myself too long of a freak-out period at the end. I'll still be doing my major review pretty close to the test, so hopefully I won't have the "what do I do now" dilemma.