Full time work

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WeAreOne213

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So here's my story. I've been a working nurse for about two years now ( LPN then RN). I recently have made the decision to go back to school and pursue medicine. I'm taking a chance here as I work fulltime to support myself (no kids, not married). Unfortunately, many of my classes I took prior to nursing school do not count towards going pre-med. So, I'll almost be starting from scratch other than the basic general education requirements (I only have an associates). I've struggled with math since I can remember but am going to bite the bullet and try my hardest to do well. My concern is having to work full time. Basically I'm just looking for some advice from someone who has done it (made it through undergrad while working, if you're bad at math that's a bonus!) and what your advice would b regarding studying/ balancing work and school. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!

Members don't see this ad.

I was not in the same boat as you, but I was working full time (40-60 hours a week depending on the research schedule), volunteering around 8 hours a week and shadowing physicians around 12 hours a week while trying to study for the MCAT. My main advice for you is to get a schedule down or routine, and try to stick with it as hard as you can. Also, be sure to keep some free time, a couple of hours a week, to relax and let loose. Its a tough adjustment in the beginning, but after some time, you get used to your routine and schedule. As for help regarding math, I had some issue with biochemistry, and I tried to meet with my professor often to ask him questions and get some advice. Maybe you can set-up meetings with your math professor directly after class perhaps as to not interfere with your work schedule, to get some extra tutoring advice. Hope that helps a little