Getting burnt out on third year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tunicaexterna

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’ve felt a steady decline in my morale during third year. I don’t want to circle jerk on rounds and talk about a potassium of 3.3 for 45 minutes. I don’t want to switch attendings every goddamn week and remember what particular presentation format they want. I don’t want to be in the OR and hear a CRNA scream “don’t let her close, she doesn’t know what she’s doing!” I don’t want to learn a new EMR system for 4 weeks then move onto a new one that i’ve Never used before. I’m just SO burnt out. I only have 8 weeks left after this block and then it’s over...it feels so far away though. I know I’m having trouble looking interested in what’s happening and I’m afraid it’s going to effect my evals. I show up every day, I try to do what I’m told. I am on time. I am nice to people. But my heart is not in it right now. Tell me things will get better?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 7 users
If I run into third years that aren't feeling like this at this point, I get pretty suspicious. I have to fight from yawning more often than I have ever lately.

Reactions: 3 users