Getting Kypho Referrals

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

deadhead2

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

Long-time lurker and infrequent poster. Really appreciate everything I have learned from this forum and would appreciate any advice I can get on this.

I am a new grad working in a hospital-employed group. My group does some kypho, but I am starting out of 2 new locations without any established pain physicians or set referral sources. One location is attached to a small, rural non-trauma hospital and the other is associated with a busy level 3 trauma center. There are no spine surgeons or neurosurgeons in either location, for what it's worth.

I would like to figure out the best way to get referrals for kypho. The Stryker and Medtronic reps tell me that nobody is doing any kypho in either location, so there is no real competition.

For those who do a lot of kypho (@lobelsteve, @BobBarker, I'm sure there are others), how do you get referrals? Meet with PCPs, ER, hospitalist, and trauma? Do you take any inpatient call or see these patients if they are admitted? I am definitely willing to put in the work to get these referrals, but I would appreciate any tips on the best way to go about it.

Members don't see this ad.

You can visit with the ED Docs and give them your cell phone number. Get the patient in the next day for consult.

Reactions: 1 user
Talk to ED docs and urgent care. If there’s no IR guys doing them either, talk to the imaging centers.

Members don't see this ad :)
PCPs and EDs. Mind you, you’ll be getting a lot of old fractures in the referral mix as well. But still good injection candidates.

Awesome, thanks everyone. I'll definitely swing by the ED to meet the docs and visit some PCPs too.

Awesome, thanks everyone. I'll definitely swing by the ED to meet the docs and visit some PCPs too.