Go with Target or Rite Aid Grad Intern Positions?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rxtillidie

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I have received offers from Target and Rite Aid (where I am currently an intern) in the Charlotte, NC area. I love the Rite Aid computer system since I am very comfortable with it. I had an APPE rotation at Target and liked the fact that I worked in a slower paced environment, and the whole Target "culture".

The Target computer system were kinda old to me, but I understand (during my interviews) that they are getting a new computer system starting 2014. In terms of salary, both offers were very comparable even though Target offered 84hrs/ 2 weeks as compared to Rite Aid’s 77hrs/ 2 weeks.

Anyone with any input on which of these 2 companies/ offers I should lean more towards? Any pros and cons of working for either Target or Rite Aid will be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

My experience with Target was that it was lower volume, but much more work for the pharmacist because of lack of technology, extra tasks (things related to "Target culture") and very little tech help. In my district, only two of the seven stores have daily tech help, and usually not for the entire day. No tech help on the weekends, except at the two busier stores. My home store had their tech hours cut from 40ish to 22 to 25, routinely. The longtime technician quit because of the cut in hours. You use a daily "workload tool" to determine how many hours you have to cut or add from the next week. This happens AFTER the schedule is posted, which sucks for the technicians.