Going over to industry as FMG/IMG with PhD in the US - only option?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chelewn

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I finished medical school in the UK 3 years ago and am now doing a PhD at a Harvard in the US. I'm on an F1 visa and finishing my second year.
I've always wanted to live in the US long-term, more so than in any other place.

During my Ph.D., I developed a strong love for data science/computer science and have become very proficient in coding.

My advisor suggests I apply for residency (I'm in Orthopedic surgery) in the US. Most top residencies don't take international doctors and prefer US citizens; if they do, they only offer J1 visas. Still, I think I have several disadvantages: I'm an international doctor, have yet to take the US medical licensing step exams (can be done in 6-9 months), & didn't get to do a sub-I/clinical elective while I was a medical student, which is often the minimum requirement for a succesful application.

I do have my Ph.D. to possibly up-weigh some of that, but I don't think it's enough to secure a residency spot at a top 20 institution, even if my advisors (who are orthopedic surgeons) vouch for me (again, no sub I, international doctor, etc.).

As an alternative, now that I'm good at coding and will be getting a related Ph.D. (not in computer science but relatively close), I thought I could get into some tech company and possibly work with software and ideally also apply some of my clinical knowledge. What do you think about that? Going into the industry would probably advance me to hb1 and then green card (not very easy from J1 during residency)