1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

GPA conversion from % to 4.0 scale

Discussion in 'Canada' started by nimba, Dec 10, 2005.

1. nimba

nimba New Member

Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    hi there,

I'm a first year student at the University of Waterloo in Honours Kinesiology. Waterloo issues GPA averages in percent format - 0 to 100. For applying to Canadian medical schools, it appears a 0-4 scale is used exclusively (especially in Ontario) What is the proper conversion scale? I really have not been able to get this answered and I hope I'm at the right place this time!

thanks for your help!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. cansnowflake

cansnowflake Member
    5+ Year Member

4. nimba

nimba New Member

thank you so much! how silly of me to not notice that after browsing through all that omsas material....

i've seen gpa's such as 3.88 or 3.95... how would those convert?

5. cansnowflake

cansnowflake Member
    5+ Year Member

The trick is to convert each course mark to the OMSAS gpa and average those together to get your GPA per year. Its a very annoying and tedious process, but thats how you get crazy numbers like 3.88 etc. :)

6. nimba

nimba New Member

but if i do that, then a course in which i had.. say 97% is still only a 4.0 gpa

and a course that I had 79% in is a 3.3 gpa. so the average between these as a percent would be 88% ( 3.9 GPA) but when the average of individual gpa's is taken, then I would only have 3.65 gpa

is that correct? is this how medical schools calculate your application average?

7. thatuvicguy

thatuvicguy Member
    7+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Yes, sad but true. That's why it's better to have a bunch of decent grades than some really high ones and some really low ones.

8. nimba

nimba New Member