GPA, not what it seems

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bla_3x

Grip it and rip it!
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
My GPA should end up around 3.3-3.4 after this spring. However, although this is not a completely devastating number I have quite a few F's especially in the beginning of my college carrier. I was a very unfocused student, completely in limbo as to what I was going to do with my life. One F (last spring) was due to my resigning my position as an RA-with which there was a leadership class attached. Is this going to hang me in my hopes to attend medical school?

Members don't see this ad.

Although I cant tell you what your chances are, I can tell you that F's will not keep you from med school. I have two F's from my first year in college, and I have been accepted to both DO and MD schools. I have had quite a few interviews, and not one person has asked about them.

Take this for what you will, and feel free to email me if you want to know any specifics...good luck.

Not at all, especially being from Nevada. The average GPA of those accepted to University of Nevada Reno are on par with yours. They usually get less than 200 in-state applicants for the 50 posistions available and apparently this is a real down year (few applicants) for them. Good luck...

Members don't see this ad :)
Im somewhat in the same boat. I graduated from brandeis with a 2.4 gpa with 3 Ds. Im at UTD now and while I dont have a very strong gpa, 3.0, I have manged to keep it consistent(only 2 Cs and I retook 1 of the classes) Everything else has been a B and a few As.

I was told by my advisor that Im a borderline candidate because my gpa isn't as strong as those I will be competing with that I can somewhat redeem myself with the MCAT.