GPAs calculated, application going out next batch! Chance my DAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

willwash

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
OP Edit: DAT Complete!

PAT 23 QR 20 RC 28 BIO 19 GC 23 OC 21 TS 20 AA 22

I am an undergrad alum at UNC, plus my military service...any shot whatsoever at UNC?

BCP 3.88
Science 3.65
Non-science 3.50
Overall 3.54

9 years Navy service (applying from active duty hoping for HSCP/HPSP) and generally pretty awesome softs, but low shadowing hours ~ 50 and no, I can't get more shadowing in for let's just say legitimate reasons which are expounded upon in my AADSAS statement.

I'm taking the DAT on the 27th. Minimum score to be comfortably in interview territory for: ?

OSU in-state
UF in-state
UNC out of state
VCU (I know I'm short of their shadowing mins but they are recommended not required)

Those are the only schools on my application right now; is it possible to go back and apply to more if the DAT doesn't go so well?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Yes you can add more schools after submitting. I'd say aim for at least a 20, which is about the average for most schools.
Also, I don't think you can claim in-state for 2 states. AADSAS makes you pick one.
Good luck!!

There are ways around that for active duty military depending on state law. What's on my AADSAS isn't necessarily the end all, be all.

I'm a Florida resident on my LES, but I am currently on active duty stationed in Ohio.

Members don't see this ad :)
do you have other dental related volunteer work?

Schools typically have to give military applicants' applications a closer look due to numerous factors. AADSAS makes you designate your primary state of residence, but many military service members can prove residency in numerous states depending on school residency policies.
Interesting. You learn something new every day. Thanks!

Reactions: 1 user