Grad school before Medical School with intentions to work/contribute in Space Agency e.g. NASA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xxNightingalexx

Reaction score
Hello!

Before posting this thread, I have searched the forum using the following keywords
  1. biotechnology
  2. microbiology
  3. NASA

And found no other thread exists. However, if such threads already explored this topic then do please forgive the redundancy and my search error.

I am a nontraditional student meaning I have earned my B.S. in Biological Sciences (2013 - 2019) while juggling employment and student organization leadership but due to extenuating circumstances I have a far from competitive GPA and am seeking a M.S. to enhance my competitiveness. I am a first-generation student and do not have anyone else in my family who have made it to medical school thus far.

In regards to searching for a M.S., I have found two programs of interest but both vary in cost and timeline of completion. These programs are the University of Florida's, UF, online Masters in Microbiology & Cell Science (with a concentration in medical microbiology and biochemistry) and University of Maryland Global Campus's, UMGC , online Biotechnology (with concentration in Bioinformatics). The program at UF is more affordable (~17K versus ~24K) and can be completed sooner than the program at UMGC (one year versus two years). UMGC does not require a GRE score and letter of recommendations, LORs, while UF requires these supplemental documents (once again I do not have a competitive GPA but my GRE score is 300 and may be able to acquire five LORs from past professors). UMGC requires prospective students to have taken, or to take, molecular biology and additional statistics/computer science course before starting the program.