Gross Anatomy--calling all med students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scrubs09

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
How has your experience in gross anatomy changed you? for the worse, for the better? Did you like it? do you know anybody who panicked?

currently, i'm a med student wanting to write some sort of paper on gross anatomy-the most challenging course in med school. I, myself, completed the course but would like to know of your experiences in the lab... :)

Members don't see this ad.

Sawing a human head in half by hand, bissecting a penis and having dead human feces get on my arm above my glove will can no longer gross me out.

I actually liked it a lot and found it easier then the rest of the courses I have taken so far. I realize that isn't the case w/ most, but once I was able to get the vocabulary down, learning the body was like learning a really cool 3-D map.

Didn't change me all that much.

I did inhale a bit of fascia on a fluke accident--it was a million to one shot, doc!--and that was pretty gross.

Members don't see this ad :)
scrubs09 said:
How has your experience in gross anatomy changed you? for the worse, for the better? Did you like it? do you know anybody who panicked?

currently, i'm a med student wanting to write some sort of paper on gross anatomy-the most challenging course in med school. I, myself, completed the course but would like to know of your experiences in the lab... :)

That would be an interesting paper to write-- there'd be many angles to explore. Tank group dynamics, students with unresolved issues with death themselves, how desensitization affects everyday interactions and humor, attitudes towards your own body after you've been through it..