Guidance with a Board Failure

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

saltydog15

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So...as the title states I have a Comlex Lvl 1 failure, 2 points shy. I'm currently an OMS-3 at a school that offers little to nothing in advising except telling me I'm restricted to family med now and shouldn't take any chances. Long story short, I wasn't prepared for the exam and knew it, I asked for an extension and it was denied by administration. At any rate, I retook the bloody exam and scored a 510. I did take Step 1 and passed but with a rather low score of 208.

I'm actually a good student, I'm in the upper half of my class ranking and have never failed a damn thing...ever. I'm doing well clinically, with all A's (we use letter grades). Big question is would it be risky for me to still pursue EM? Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

DO w board failure seems like uphill battle. Would rotate at 3 or 4 "lower tier" programs and try to get into one of those and also have back up specialty.

Sent from my SM-G928V using SDN mobile

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Your chances are low....but not zero.

Look, it was hard enough for me and I was an IMG with a perfect application. Good steps, rocked clinicals, exceptional LORs, applied to EVERY program in the country (took out a small loan to do it) and got....wait for it....11 invites. Out of...hell I can't even remember anymore, well over a hundred programs. (Given, many didn't take IMGs but I didn't want to risk it.) God smiled on me and I matched at my #1, but had I failed a step? I doubt very seriously I'd be posting in here right now. I'm just being honest. Sure, IMG MD and DO are different, but I think as far as competitiveness goes for EM residency, it's probably a somewhat similar playing field.