Jan 17, 2010
Status
Medical Student
I am a 2nd year student and remember reading that pathologists were having a heck of a time finding work w/o having to do multiple fellowships. Is this still the case? Reason I ask is I am considering Pathology for my residency in the future, but if the job outlook is grim, then I will have to take that into account.

Thanks

BU Pathology

10+ Year Member
Sep 10, 2006
Boston
Status
Attending Physician
I am a 2nd year student and remember reading that pathologists were having a heck of a time finding work w/o having to do multiple fellowships. Is this still the case? Reason I ask is I am considering Pathology for my residency in the future, but if the job outlook is grim, then I will have to take that into account.

Thanks
All of our fellows in the past 4 years have gotten jobs in the Boston area at the completion of their training. All of our residents for the past 4 years have gotten fellowships in locations that they wanted.

All of the program directors and pathology chairs that I query tell me that all of their residents have fellowships or jobs, and all of their fellows have jobs.

You will hear that pathologists finishing training cannot find jobs, but I have yet to see any verification or people providing specific details.

As a small field, there are not large number of open positions available, because there are not a large number of pathologists working.

I post my name and work location, so everyone will know the source of the information.

Daniel Remick, M.D.
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine and Boston Medical Center

KeratinPearls

10+ Year Member
Apr 2, 2007
Status
Fellow [Any Field]

Thanks