Have I Dug Myself in a REALLY deep hole?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CoffeeAddict99

Reaction score
Hi,

So I am a incoming Sophomore and I think I’ve really shot myself in the foot. The past year was rough for me emotionally and physically (i did not address my mental health issues- until now- and joined the wrong crowd). I ended my freshman year with a C/C+ in Gen Chem, and took Ochem over the summer with a C in Orgo 1 and a W for Orgo 2. My current GPA is floating around a 3.2 and science 2.7. Right now I’m taking a sabbatical to really focus on myself, but I want to know if this is the end of my medical dreams.

Other pertinent info about me is that I am Asian and because of that people have said that there really is no hope with my grades.

Any honest feedback is much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi,

Other pertinent info about me is that I am Asian and because of that there really is no hope with my grades.
Your approach to the material has to change.
Your self perception must also improve.

Reactions: 6 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Your approach to the material has to change.
Your self perception must also improve.
Oh I think I should have clarified. People have told me that if you are Asian with grades like mine, there is no hope. It’s hard to envision a future in medicine when you are told such things.

Oh I think I should have clarified. People have told me that if you are Asian with grades like mine, there is no hope. It’s hard to envision a future in medicine when you are told such things.
No. Grades at application like these are not consistent with success for the large majority of all applicants.
Luckily, you have plenty of time to address the deficit such that your grades at application are acceptable.

Reactions: 1 users
No. Grades at application like these are not consistent with success for the large majority of all applicants.