Have you ever heard of...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

calam1ty

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm at an awkward stage of my college career. I am a junior in undergrad and have already signed an intent to enroll in pharmacy school in the fall of 2011. Lately, I've been shadowing some pharmacists and talking with people about med school and I've been thinking that medicine might be the career that will make me the happiest. Don't get me wrong, pharmacy is a great career and I love the sciences, but I feel like I want more patient interaction and solving the mysteries of the human body.

My problem is even if I wanted to apply to med school, I won't be able to finish my major on time due to two classes that are only offered in the spring (one being a pre-req for the other). My GPA is kinda low (3.4) and I haven't taken the MCAT, but I am confident that I can do well enough to get in the upper 20s/lower 30s after my experience with the PCAT (89th percentile). I have no experience shadowing a doctor and none in the research lab. So has anyone ever heard of a year one pharmacy student applying to med school and getting in? I still have the summer to build up my application with volunteering, but all my pre reqs are done and all I would have to do is take the MCAT. The thing is, I won't have a BA degree, but I'll be in in pharmacy school as maybe sort of a backup in case I don't get into med school.

Members don't see this ad.