Having a major, non-medicine related EC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DendWrite

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Just curious if this would be looked upon unfavorably. Currently, I'm an editor for our school's paper. It sounds small, but it's a pretty involved job (about 30 hrs. per week), involves managing writers, sometimes writing stories myself, etc.

Here's my problem: I'm reasonably sure that I want to go into medicine, probably research. But as it stands, I'm only spending about 8 hrs. per week at the lab. Are med schools going to be like, hey, if he works at the paper so much, why does he even want to do medicine?

I enjoy doing the paper, but I'm not an aspiring journalist, it's just a hobby I enjoy. I'd like to continue being involved, but, next semester, should I taper off a bit (just be a writer, not an editor) and focus more on what I'm, well, actually interested in doing when I graduate?

Members don't see this ad.

1. do what you love, not what you think will impress adcoms. it seems as though you have a leadership position- adcoms love that.
2. as long as you have medically related ECs so that you can demonstrate that you know what you're getting into, thats fine.
good luck!

Hi all,

Just curious if this would be looked upon unfavorably. Currently, I'm an editor for our school's paper. It sounds small, but it's a pretty involved job (about 30 hrs. per week), involves managing writers, sometimes writing stories myself, etc.

Here's my problem: I'm reasonably sure that I want to go into medicine, probably research. But as it stands, I'm only spending about 8 hrs. per week at the lab. Are med schools going to be like, hey, if he works at the paper so much, why does he even want to do medicine?