Having pets while in school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WizardOfPaws

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, so just wondering if it's a good idea to have a pet during the the first few years of vet school.

I've been fostering this underweight chihuahua mix for a couple months and really want to adopt him but my parents, who will be helping a little, are worried about added expenses.

I think having a pet, especially such an easy-going tiny guy, will keep me sane throughout vet school.

What could be some potential pros and cons of having an animal?

Just one, I don't intend on adopting another and he's well under the 20lbs weight limit most complexes have

Members don't see this ad.

There have been plenty of threads on this topic in the past it might be helpful to read.

https://forums.studentdoctor.net/threads/pets-in-veterinary-school.1091453/#post-15564803
This one has some replies, but the first post also links to like8 old threads in case you can't figure out how to search.

https://forums.studentdoctor.net/threads/owning-a-dog-while-in-vet-school.1049461/#post-14778544
Here's another.

Many students have pets. There are lots of discounts available for vet students. We got free/discounted heartworm meds, free/discounted flea and tick preventatives, discounts on dog food, and a discount at the teaching hospital. Occasionally free treats and shampoos or other products from certain companies. That said, it can be a significant expense, particularly if a medical emergency arises that you weren't planning or have an emergency fund for. I wouldn't have traded having a dog for anything though, but you just need to think it through for yourself.

Reactions: 3 users
There have been plenty of threads on this topic in the past it might be helpful to read.

https://forums.studentdoctor.net/threads/pets-in-veterinary-school.1091453/#post-15564803