Having second thoughts :(

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

A.flowers

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a pre-dental hygiene student..before doing this, I shadowed a few hygienists and worked as a dental assistant for a year. I'll be done with my pre req's this fall & that's when I'll be applying to my university.. however I just don't feel like this is what I want. I've noticed hygiene is super repetitive, and I can see myself eventually getting bored. The school I'm applying to has a "bridge program" meaning, it's a program where students go through DH to DDS. I don't have my pre req's for that program completed, but I'll need Gen Chem, O Chem, Gen Bio, Biochem & physics, and I'll need to take the DAT. I don't really know what to do, because I feel like I'm wasting time and the application for my program (DH) is coming up soon. I can either go through the DH program, and then take pre req's for DDS or continue school & apply to the bridge program.
I can't seem to decide what the best choice is.. so my question is, what choice is the most time efficient? Which one, in your opinion seems the best?
I'll be 22 soon, my estimated guess is that I'll be 24 when I apply to dental school, 28 when I graduate. Is that too old?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: