Hello and advice!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JohnDO

MS III
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hellooooo feelloww future DOOOO's!!!

Hey guys, looks like a great forum. I'll be looking forward to becoming part of the community. Anyhow, I need some advice.

Basically I came into my freshman year thinking the purpose of going to college was to party! I knew I wanted to be a physician, but I had little idea of what it took, and even less of an idea of what kind of impact the lifestyle I was living would have on my grades. I finished my freshman year with a 2.5 GPA :oops:

Anyhow, I got back on track my sophomore year and earned a 3.75 for the year. I'm a first semester junior now, and my GPA is around 3.24. At the end of this year I expect around 3.36-3.4 GPA come application time. I am currently studying for the MCAT (need to rock the boat come april). I'm wondering what I can do to increase my chances of acceptance into an osteopathic program.

Here's a little bit about me and my hobbies/ECs

Years of volunteering on the (general) leadership board at church
Years of guitar lessons, also music leader for the youth program at church
Tennis club for 2 years
Small business owner
Co-founded and run a scientific news/discussion website [not sure this means anything, but it does take a lot of time and effort!]
Got my EMT license over the summer, plan on volunteering

I need some advice for what I should be doing over the next 8 months till the application cycle rolls around to increase my chances of acceptance.

My plan so far is to volunteer in a clinical setting, spank the MCAT and show it who its daddy is, apply as early as possible w/ great recommendations and personal statement [not sure how much this matters].

Is there anything else you guys can think of? Any advice?

Anyhow, I look forward to contributing here! Thanks guys!

Members don't see this ad.