Help! Advice for a Non-Trad Pre-Med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EMTBee

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! I just wanted to see if you all had any advice for a struggling pre-med. I'm a non-traditional student trying to complete my pre-reqs after being out of the sciences for a few years. My academic performance this semester has been discouraging to say the least. It's not terrible (no Ds or Fs or *hopefully* Cs we'll see), but it definitely has room for improvement. The course load is: physics, biochem, and o chem through Harvard Extension. Anyone have advice on studying for o chem and physics in particular? I'm looking to form that upward trend!

ALSO, I was thinking about postponing the rest of my pre-med classes for a while. As it is, I'm basically on my fifth year of undergrad (I just graduated with my BA in May) and I'm getting a touch burnt out on academics. Not to mention that the online learning is just absolutely killing me this year. But, I'm worried about what med schools will think if I'm starting and stopping my classes. For reference, I took pre-med classes when I was a Freshman 4 years ago, decided I didn't want to go that route at the time, came back this year to do more pre-med classes, and am now getting burnt out and wanting some real life experience. So I was thinking of working as an EMT and getting my paramedic training. Any advice?

Members don't see this ad.